Going Way Back…

I was remembering an old friend of mine I meant in my early recovery process. I believe I might have been sober for 5 or 6 years at the time. Her name was Kim D.

As I thought about her, I remembered the qualities or characteristics that she had. She was compassionate, giving, a great listener, a calm person, intentional, committed, very smart, full of humility, hopeful and her words carried much weight although she was quiet unless she really knew you well or felt safe with you.

I realized as I reflected on the memories we made together, that she was a significant person in my life. I don’t know where she is now but if I could speak to her I would tell her how her words, her ability to listen and have compassion toward me allowed my true self to emerge.

Thank you Kim D. Wherever you are, I hope you have joy in your life, good health, a smile on your face, love holding you and at some piont you remember our time together. It was real. It was sacred. It was hopeful and helpful. It was special. It was full of grace.

©Exposed Loving

2 thoughts on “Going Way Back…

Leave a Reply

