Spiritual Journey #2


In the beginning of my spiritual journey I used prayer to get out of fixes. If I did something wrong or if I was unsure about the outcome of a situation, I prayed.
Often in those prayers, I would bargain with God. If He gave me what I wanted I would give up something or do something in return. Of course when the prayers were answered, I sometimes forgot about what I said I would do. I used this method until I matured spiritually.

Later, my prayer life not only included prayers for myself and family but for others too. I prayed for strangers and co-workers. These prayers took place outside of holidays or special church services.

I prayed for myself and others because by faith I knew prayer worked. Praying worked in a way that surprised me. I realized that when I prayed, I felt better inside. I was calmer. I let go easier. I could sleep better. I could focus better. I had more empathy and consideration for others. Simple put, prayer gave me more peace.

© Exposed Loving, 1.22.17

3 thoughts on “Spiritual Journey #2

    • We are not perfect. Thus, our prayer life will not be perfect. This knowledge will hopefully not keep a person from experiencing the benefits of praying. Spiritual maturity in prayer and other spiritual matters comes over time. We all can look forward to receiving it. Thanks for your comment.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

